March 2020

Covid 19 notice

As bridge clubs and education venues across the country are closing their doors, we will continue to do our best to support our bridge students and teachers. At EBED we are working to offer solutions for the immediate term and longer term. We will be adding more material, advice and guidance over the coming weeks, for our EBTA Members in the Teacher Zone. Student Members can visit our Student Zone.
Teachers can also join our on line forum and use our Facebook pages to keep in touch and share ideas.


For those looking for advice in regards to Coronavirus, please use the following link

For specific information on the EBED training course programme, please use the Directing and Teach Bridge links above.

Haberdashers School wins Schools Cup at Young Bridge Challenge

The Young Bridge Challenge took place in Loughborough on Saturday 7th March with young players enjoying an afternoon of bridge and minibridge competitions.

The participating teams began with four rounds of Swiss Teams Qualifying. The leading four teams eligible for the Schools’ Cup (team members all from the same school) transferred to a Knock-out format for the Schools’ Cup whilst the remaining teams continued with two further matches in the Swiss Teams. In the semi-finals, Haberdashers beat St Paul’s School by 20 IMPs, and Loughborough Grammar School beat Exeter Maths School by 9 IMPs.

The final took place on centre stage and it was Haberdashers (pictured) who prevailed, beating Loughborough Grammar School by 28 imps. St Paul’s School won the 3rd place playoff.

The Harry Scully Trophy was also a competitive affair with many teams chipping away at last year’s holders. In the end, Jamie Fegarty, Liam Fegarty, Jasmine Bakhshi and Henry Rose (here) retained the trophy again. The next highest school team were Joss Davis, Adrian Dimitrov, George Justice, Thibault Crosnier (here) of Loughborough Grammar School A. They won the School’s Plate and gave the Harry Scully winners their only defeat of the competition.

The Minibridge winners were Isaac Alston & Daniel Valiente of English Martyrs School, tied with Robert Attewell, Joseph Ibbotson and Junior Hayden of Willowbrook.

The event was organised by English Bridge Education and Development. Thank you from all involved to Loughborough Grammar School for hosting the event.